The Best Books for 8 to 10 Year Olds

 

 

Best Books for 8 to 10 Year OldsBy Harry, age 9

Books take me to adventurous places and they’re very comforting if I’m in a bad mood. I like to read anywhere – on a beanbag, on the swings, on the train, in bed, on a boat, in a park or up a tree. These are my favourite books. They are good for young and old readers and they will transport you to magical worlds. Some of them take you to the past, some of them are funny and some of them are sad. I hope you enjoy them as much as I did.

The Wolf Princess by Cathryn Constable

Best Books for 8 to 10 Year Olds

This is one of my favourite books of all time. It’s about a girl who goes to Russia on a school trip and gets caught up in a tale of princesses, wolves and diamonds. There is a lot of adventure in it but it’s tragic too.

The Harry Potter series by J.K.Rowling

Best Books for 8 to 10 Year Olds

The description is so good that you can see it in front of you. My favourite character is Hermione Granger because she is so clever and always thinks up the best solution. The magic makes the stories perfect.

Journey to the River Sea by Eva Ibbotson

Best Books for 8 to 10 Year Olds

This book is about a girl who moves to the Amazon and has lots of unexpected adventures. It’s an amazing book.

A Boy and His Bear by Harriet Graham

Best Books for 8 to 10 Year Olds

This is set in Elizabethan times and it’s about a boy who has a special bond with a bear cub. I absolutely loved it. It’s so sad but scary and adorable too.

The Doctor Dolittle series by Hugh Lofting

Best Books for 8 to 10 Year Olds

These books are superb for animal lovers like me. They are about a vet who can talk to animals and goes on adventures with them.

Matilda by Roald Dahl

Best Books for 8 to 10 Year Olds

I think Roald Dahl is a brilliant author and his books are very funny. ‘Matilda’ is about a girl who loves books but when she goes to a school with a horrible head teacher, strange things start to happen. I find it comforting to read and I love it because I love books too.

The Land of Stories series by Chris Colfer

Best Books for 8 to 10 Year Olds

These books are set in a fantasy world with fairytale characters ruling lots of different lands. There’s loads of adventure. I love them because they have so much magic in them and I really like how fairy tales are mixed into it too.

Swallows and Amazons by Arthur Ransome

 

Best Books for 8 to 10 Year Olds

I think all children should read this with their parents. It’s about some children who go sailing on their own and have lots of adventures. I would love to be part of the story.

Elizabeth: My Royal Story by Kathryn Lasky

Best Books for 8 to 10 Year Olds

I so recommend this book! It is all about Princess Elizabeth before she became Queen Elizabeth I. It is an absolutely amazing read for history lovers like me.

The Magic Faraway series by Enid Blyton

Best Books for 8 to 10 Year Olds

This is about some children who discover a mysterious tree with magical lands at the top and magical people inside.

COMING UP NEXT: The Best Books for 10 to 12 Year Olds

5 thoughts on “The Best Books for 8 to 10 Year Olds

  1. Pingback: The Top Ten Tips to get Children into Books | suitcases and sandcastles
    • The Magic Faraway Tree is just wonderful. We loved those books, both reading them out loud and then the boys read them on their own. It was one of those rare books that was just as special re-reading it as an adult as it had been enjoying it as a child. It really inspired their imaginations.

      Like

Leave a Reply

