A Photo Tour of Lisbon

A PHOTO TOUR

We’ve just got back from four days in Lisbon. It’s a truly beautiful city and makes a great choice for a family break once your children are old enough to walk up lots of steep steps and clamber around old towers and turrets. I’ll be posting my guide to the best things for families to see and do over the next couple of weeks but in the meantime I thought I’d share some of the photos of our adventures.

We all fell in love with Lisbon from the red-tiled roofsCity Breaks With Kids: Lisbon

to the colourful walls of virtually every building we passed.

Getting around was definitely part of the fun.City Breaks With Kids: Lisbon

We wandered around the wonderful food markets at the Campo de Ourique and the Mercado da Ribeira

and found music in the squares.A Photo Tour of Lisbon

We explored the Castelo de São JorgeLisbon Castle

and the Torre de Belém.

We were all blown away by the magnificence of the cloisters at the Jerónimos Monastery.

And I found it very hard to resist all the beautifully-packaged goodies in the shops…

Pin it!A PHOTO TOUR

41 thoughts on “A Photo Tour of Lisbon

  1. Thank you for sharing this, it’s an amazing revelation fir me. I am not able to discover Lisbon , can’t do stairs etc so thank you for all the beautiful things from a regular overdone eye view . It brought a tear to my eye xx

    Like

  2. Such beautiful pictures – with all the vibrant colours, it does feel as though spring has stepped into my office via the laptop! #citytripping

    Like

    • Lisbon is one of those cities that I’d always meant to visit but never gotten around to. It was every bit as wonderful as I’d hoped and I’m really looking forward to sharing more about it over the next few weeks. Thanks so much for commenting. I do hope you get to visit Lisbon soon!

      Like

  3. What fabulous photos – Lisbon is one of my favourite cities in the world, I’ve been a few times and would go back in a shot if I could (especially after seeing your pictures). I still haven’t visited with my daughter, but I’d love to go to Belem with her and ride on one of the trams, and while she might not enjoy the hills of the Alfama, I know she’d love the castle. I am coming over all nostalgic! #citytripping

    Like

  4. I would love to visit Lisbon – I recommended it to a friend a few days ago even though I’ve never been before (although I have done loads of research!). Your photos look great, I look forward to reading more over the next few posts.#citytripping

    Like

  5. Your photos are amazing! I have been wanting to visit Lisbon for years. I love the nice packaged goodies too. Last year, we went to a small town in France’s Basque Country and we found an entire store dedicated to canned fish. It was interesting and pretty at the same time.

    Like

  6. Beautiful photos! What a refreshing place it looks to be, so clean and colourful – love the architecture. I take your point about toiling up hills (especially for kids) but I find cities built on hills – or a hill – incredibly romantic, inspiring.

    Like

    • Thank you so much, Sylvia. I loved the colours and the architecture. We also visited the town of Sintra with its extraordinary palaces on hills. That was incredibly romantic. I’ll be posting more photos and stories about that trip too.

      Like

  7. My parents are from Portugal and I grew up going to visit the country. But never really appreciated it until recently … beautiful country, people, culture and food. So proud to have heritage there. I love seeing other bloggers/travellers go there… no one ever seems to regret it 🙂 Now I want to go back again! #citytripping (Found you through the link up)

    Like

  8. I’ve always thought Lisbon looked beautiful!! Your pictures are amazing – I love the pictures of the monastery! It looks like such a unique blend of architectural styles!!

    Like

  9. I love Lisbon, I’ve been there twice and had a wonderful time on each visit. Your photos have made me miss it a lot, I was actually considering going again later this year. #citytripping

    Like

  10. I am DESPERATE to visit Lisbon — it looks so beautiful and vibrant and fun to explore with kids. Going to be using your post as a resource! #citytripping

    Like

Leave a Reply

