Seven Things you must do at the Tower of London

The Tower of London is one of the most iconic sites in the capital and an absolute must-see for anyone planning a visit to London. It’s great for kids who relish the more horrible parts of history as it’s packed with stories of torture, deaths, imprisonments, hauntings and murder. You’ll find everything from suits of armour to some of the most famous jewels in the world.

There’s so much to see and do here that it can seem a bit overwhelming. Here’s my guide to some of the best bits.

Go on a Yeoman Warder Tour

Seven Things You Must Do at the Tower of London

Picture: Frantzesco Kangaris/newsteam.co.uk

The Yeoman Warder Tours are a fantastic way to start your visit to the Tower. The Yeoman Warders (or Beefeaters as they’re more commonly known) live at the Tower and have guarded it for 500 years. They need to have served honourably in the armed forces for at least 22 years before they can even be considered for the job.

The tours take place every 30 minutes and take about an hour. The Yeoman Warders are full of stories and often very amusing. They’ll tease, disgust and entertain your kids in equal measure. We loved finding out that the reason why the grass is so green in the moat is because it used to be filled with carcasses, plague victims, rats and poo. Or that the Tower’s first prisoner managed to escape from the White Tower by sliding down a rope that had been smuggled into his cell in a wine casket. We found out that wild animals like elephants, bears and tigers were kept in the Tower as part of the Royal Menagerie, including a polar bear who used to catch fish from the River Thames and a zebra who liked to drink beer from the soldiers’ canteen!

Spot the ravens

Seven Things You Must Do at the Tower of London

© Historic Royal Palaces

There are seven ravens living in the Tower and it’s fun to spot them as you walk around. According to legend, the kingdom will fall if the ravens ever leave the Tower so the birds have been protected here since the time of King Charles II.

They have to be replaced if they’re not up to the job though: one raven was ‘sacked’ for eating TV aerials. One of the beefeaters is in charge of looking after them and they are fed with raw meat and bird biscuits soaked in blood.

Gaze in wonder at the Crown Jewels

The Crown Jewels are the most powerful symbols of the British Monarchy and still regularly used by the Queen. They’re every bit as impressive as you’d imagine. You can see everything that’s been used in the coronation ceremony since 1661 including the extremely heavy St Edward’s Crown which is used to crown the monarch. The original Crown Jewels were destroyed in the Tower on Oliver Cromwell’s orders after the execution of King Charles I but they were remade for the coronation of his son, King Charles II.

Some of the most famous diamonds in the world are part of the collection, like the 530.2 carat ‘Great Star of Africa’ which is in the Sovereign’s Sceptre, and the Koh-i-Nûr, the ‘Mountain of Light’ which is set in the crown that belonged to Queen Elizabeth the Queen Mother – along with 2,800 other diamonds.

The jewels are under armed guard in the Tower. Even the vault doors going into the Jewel House weigh 2,000 kgs each. It’s hard to believe that visitors used to be able to touch the Crown Jewels. That all stopped in 1815 after a woman grabbed the Imperial State Crown and tried to pull it apart.

The Jewel House is usually very busy so keep an eye on the queue while you’re walking around and try and nip in when the queue’s not too long.

Look at the Execution Site

Seven Things You Must Do at the Tower of London

© Historic Royal Palaces

On Tower Green, you’ll find a memorial to all those who were killed at this execution site, including the three Queens of England – Anne Boleyn, Catherine Howard and Lady Jane Grey – who were all beheaded here.

Despite its reputation as a place of execution, only 22 people have actually been executed within the Tower of London. Most people were killed at nearby Tower Hill. It was considered a privilege to be executed within the Tower, away from the jeering crowds.

The remains of many of the people who were beheaded at the Tower are buried in the nearby Chapel Royal, including some of the most famous Tudors like Anne Boleyn, Sir Thomas More and Thomas Cromwell. Their headless bodies were all found buried under the nave here during the 19th century.

See the armour in the White Tower

Seven Things You Must Do at the Tower of LondonThe White Tower is the oldest part of the Tower of London. It was built under the orders of William the Conqueror. It’s in here that you can see the suits of armour that were made for kings like Henry VIII and Charles I. It’s really interesting seeing the difference in size of the armour made for the young Henry VIII and the one made when he was older – he had clearly put on a lot of weight!

The ‘Line of Kings’, the armour arranged on life-sized wooden horses, has been on display to visitors for centuries. My children were particularly fascinated by the suits of armour made for young princes.

Go up the Bloody Tower

Seven Things You Must Do at the Tower of London

© Historic Royal Palaces

This is the tower where the two princes are said to have been murdered. The 12-year-old King Edward V and his little brother, Richard, were sent to the Tower by their uncle. They were then declared illegitimate and he was crowned King Richard III in 1483. They were never seen again. The Bloody Tower is said to be haunted by the ghosts of two boys in their nightshirts.

The upper chamber of the Bloody Tower has a display about the princes’ disappearance but you should also visit the lower chamber, where Sir Walter Raleigh was imprisoned. The rooms have been furnished as they might have looked during his time here.

Watch the Ceremony of the Keys

© Historic Royal Palaces

The traditional locking up of the Tower of London has taken place every night for over 700 years. At 9.52pm exactly, the Chief Yeoman Warder comes out carrying a candle lantern in one hand and the Queen’s keys in the other. He walks to Traitor’s Gate to meet the Foot Guards and the ceremony takes place. Forty to 50 visitors are admitted into the Tower to watch it from 9.30pm. Admission is free but you need to book online.

The Tower of London is open every day. Tickets cost from £23.10, adults; £10.50, children; under 5s, free. If you’re travelling by train, print out a 2 for 1 offer. You can pick up family trails and worksheets from the information desk. There are often special activities for families during the school holidays.

Pin It!Seven Things you must do in the Tower of London

53 thoughts on “Seven Things you must do at the Tower of London

  1. I haven’t visited the Tower since I was a child. It features so much in our rich history – I really must take the kids there soon. And my daughter’s going through a ‘crown’ phase at the moment, so it would be right up her street!

    Like

  2. A fascinating snapshot of the history behind the Tower of London. Like Nell, I haven’t been since I was a child but would like to take my daughter – although think some of it may be a little gory for her little ears. Thanks for the tips and for linking to #citytripping

    Like

  3. I absolutely love the Tower, one of my favourite places in London although I haven’t yet been with my daughter – I keep meaning to put my name down for the Ceremony of the Keys too. And I love your stories. I knew about the menagerie, but not the boozy zebra, and I had no idea ravens could be sacked! Thanks for linking up to #citytripping

    Like

  4. I’ve never been to the Tower of London – so many juicy stories within its rich history! I think my daughters might get spooked out by some of it, but if we visit London soon I’m still definitely going to take them. #citytripping

    Like

  5. We went to London Tower but missed the “Execution place” and “Key ceremony”! Unfortunately the Yeoman tour was too difficult to understand for my French kids 😦 Thanks for this detailed post (and great pictures), next time we wont miss anything!

    Like

    • Thank you! I can see that the yeoman tour would be too difficult to understand in another language. In some places they’re much better at providing tours in a variety of languages.

      Like

  6. I’ve always wanted to go into the Tower of London, but only really knew about the crown jewels! It seems kind of expensive, so I may have to wait until I am with a group or something. Beautiful photos, though, and thanks for taking us cheapos inside! 🙂 #citytripping

    Like

  7. When we lived in Kent, The Tower of London was one of those places we were always going to visit but never did and then we left for France. I really must make the effort to get there on a future trip back. Off to add it to my recently created UK Bucket List pin board! #citytripping

    Like

  8. I have never really got the hang of the Tower, but I love all the little details you have dug up – I expect its in the knowing of that sort of thing that the place comes alive.

    Like

  9. I remember my tour of Tower of London back in 2004 (gosh, it was so long ago!) and thoroughly enjoyed it. If I were to return to London now, I would definitely make another trip to this place. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

  10. Pingback: City Tripping #19 - Wander Mum
  11. I love the Tower of London and would love to go back and do a tour again! I haven’t done a tour since I was a kid.. 14 or 15 years old! The Crown Jewels are totally drool worthy and I always remember them! I compare other countries jewels to England’s! #MondayEscapes

    Like

  12. Great post!!! I visited the tower a long time ago and only remember the Crow Jewel! After watching the Tudor (I loved it) I started to see the Tower of London in a different way! Next time I’m in London I have to go there again, there is definitely a lot of things to do there that I didn’t! 😀

    Happy to have you on #MondayEscapes 😀

    Like

  13. A great round up of what to do in the Tower. As I mentioned to you before, I work so close to it and I’ve only been a few times when I was a child! I really should take Monkey soon! The execution site I remember being fascinating! Thank for linking up with #MondayEscapes

    Like

  14. As with many of the other commenters here, I’ve also been to the Tower of London many years ago, but had forgotten most of what I saw there (except the execution sites and the crown jewels – those are pretty memorable!). It also reminded me how expensive London is :p Thank goodness most of the museums have free admission (unlike NYC). Thanks for the trip down memory lane!

    Like

    • It really is expensive, isn’t it? At least London has lots of other great attractions that are free. I do think it’s worth a visit though – there’s loads to do and it’s not everyday you get to see where queens had their heads cut off, and those jewels are extraordinary!

      Liked by 1 person

  15. I have passed by the tower a few times but had not felt like visiting it, until I read your interesting and funny post on it. Thanks for sharing this, Clare, and I will visit the tower when I do travel to London again.

    Like

    • Haha, me too! It would be good in winter too, quite atmospheric in the pitch dark, I think. You have to plan really far ahead for it though – I think it’s booked ahead for at least six months solid.

      Like

  16. I’ve been to London more than 10 times (I live in Australia) and only just visited the Tower of London on holiday a fortnight ago. I can’t believe I’ve never visit it before – it was fabulous with so much to see. The photos really capture the highlights. My favourite place was the armoury. I also love the armoury at the Musee de l’Armee in Paris.

    Like

    • I think that there are so many great things to see and do in London that it can be quite difficult working out what to do on each visit, particularly when you’re coming from so far away. So glad you got to see the Tower at last – you could spend hours there easily. Thanks so much for reading and commenting. I’ve not seen the armoury at the Musée de l’Armée – must put that on my next to do list for Paris!

      Like

  17. We’re visiting the Tower of London next month, so your tips are very timely. There’s so much I didn’t know, apparently. Too bad the public can no longer handle the jewels. That would have been a thrill.

    Like

  18. The Crown Jewels were my favorite part of the Tower of London! I don’t remember if I went up the Bloody Tower, but I do remember laughing a lot at how we’ve only seen one raven, haha.

    Like

Leave a Reply

